Guiding Principles

Guiding Principles

Independence

As a privately controlled and run company, we think and act independently.

Partnership and shared interests

We demonstrate commitment to our clients by pursuing common investment interests, remaining open and transparent with them at all times and considering ourselves as their partner.

Long-term orientation

We pursue long-term interests both as a company and when it comes to the orientation of our investment philosophy.

Clear focus

We are a specialised asset manager with a focus on investing in liquid securities. Our investment philosophy and strategy is consistent and is implemented for all our clients in a similar way. When our clients enquire about non-core areas (e.g. private equity, real estate, etc.), we either refer them to relevant external specialists or decline their request completely.

A passion for – and humility towards – the markets.
A willingness to learn and continue learning

Exploring the connections between macroeconomics, fundamental factors and investment psychology and using this information to navigate the international financial and capital markets is our passion.

However, making investment decisions under uncertainty amid constantly changing market conditions can occasionally result in suboptimal portfolio decisions.

With this in mind, we consider it important to respect the markets’ behaviour all of the times («at the end of the day, the market is always right»), be eager to learn, recognise any mistakes at an early stage and actively adapt to changing circumstances («acting» vs. «reacting»).

Although this is a continuous, repetitive and sometimes difficult and painful learning process, it is a vital part of our day-to-day work.

Uncompromising quality and competitive thinking

We set ourselves high standards when it comes to the quality of the services we offer and the portfolio results we achieve for our clients. We are competitive and relish the opportunity to tackle the competition we face.

Technology and efficient infrastructure

Our successful business model is based on efficient structures and processes. Our affinity for technology means we are constantly seeking to optimise our processes (trading systems with custodian banks and brokers, IT reporting infrastructure or web-based communication platforms).

Responsible Investment

We recognize our responsibility as an investor towards our clients, society, and the climate not to fund unethical or unsustainable companies. As a signatory of the UN-backed investor initiative «Principles for Responsible Investment» (PRI), we include ESG factors in our analysis and decision-making processes and work constantly to improve ourselves in this field.

Leitsätze | ALTRAFIN

Leitsätze

Leitsätze

Unabhängigkeit

Als privat kontrolliertes und geführtes Unternehmen denken und handeln wir unabhängig.

Partnerschaft & Interessensgleichheit

Wir sind unseren Kunden verpflichtet, verfolgen im Rahmen der Vermögensveranlagung gleichgelagerte Interessen, sind hinsichtlich sämtlicher Abläufe ihnen gegenüber offen und transparent, und verstehen uns als deren Partner.

Langfristige Ausrichtung

Wir verfolgen langfristig ausgerichtete Interessen, sowohl als Unternehmen als auch die Ausrichtung unserer Investment Philosophie betreffend.

Fokussierung

Wir sind ein spezialisierter Asset Manager mit einer Fokussierung auf liquide Wertpapieranlagen. Die Anlagephilosophie und –Strategie ist einheitlich und wird kundenübergreifend umgesetzt. Anfragen unserer Kunden zu Nicht-Kernbereichen (z.B. Private Equity, Hedge Funds, Immobilien etc.) werden entweder extern an entsprechende Spezialisten delegiert oder vollumfänglich abgelehnt.

Leidenschaft für die Märkte und Demut vor den Märkten. Lernbereitschaft und stetiges Lernen

Die Auseinandersetzung mit makroökonomischen, fundamentalen und anlagepsychologischen Zusammenhängen und das entsprechende Navigieren an den internationalen Finanz- und Kapitalmärkten sind unsere Leidenschaft.

Anlageentscheidungen unter Unsicherheit zu treffen, bei sich ständig ändernden Marktgegebenheiten, können hin und wieder aber auch zu suboptimalen Portfoliodispositionen führen. Dem können auch wir uns nicht vollkommen entziehen.

Wichtig in diesem Zusammenhang erscheint uns, stets Demut vor dem Markt zu haben («am Ende des Tages hat der Markt immer Recht»), lernbereit zu sein, etwaige Fehler frühzeitig zu erkennen und bei sich ändernden Gegebenheiten entsprechend aktiv anzupassen («agieren» vs. «reagieren»).

Dies ist ein kontinuierlicher, iterativer und zuweilen schwieriger & schmerzhafter Lernprozess, der im Rahmen unseres täglichen Handelns eine zentrale Stellung einnimmt.

Qualitätsanspruch und kompetitives Denken

Wir haben an uns selbst hohe Ansprüche was die Qualität der angebotenen Dienstleistungen beziehungsweise was die für unsere Kunden erzielten Portfolioergebnisse betrifft, wir sind kompetitiv und stellen uns gerne dem Wettbewerb.

Technologie und effiziente Infrastruktur

Effiziente Strukturen und Abläufe bilden die Basis unseres erfolgreichen Geschäftsmodells. Wir sind Technologie affin und versuchen unsere Prozessabläufe kontinuierlich zu optimieren (Handelssysteme im Zusammenhang mit Depotbanken und Brokern, Reporting-IT Infrastruktur oder webbasierte Kommunikationsplattformen).